Queensland is keeping pace with a global shift towards high-tech agriculture, with the state’s agtech projects attracting attention from potential international partners.

Twenty-four investors and importers visited agtech companies and researchers in Brisbane and Toowoomba recently during a tour hosted by TIQ and Austrade.

They were in Australia for the evokeAG conference in Melbourne, which brought together around 1,200 producers, innovators and decision-makers from around the world to explore agtech and research.

TIQ supported more than 20 Queensland producers and international clients to attend evokeAG, including local companies such as Ceres Tag (smart ear tags), SwarmFarm (robotic agriculture) and Natural Evolution (food-processing technology), who were all panel speakers at the event.

A major theme from the conference was the value of agriculture and the importance of agtech worldwide. Keynote speaker Spencer Maughan – a Silicon Valley venture capitalist and TIQ client – said that the agriculture sector is predicted to be worth around $100 billion to Australia by 2030.

Also highlighted was Austrade’s Agriculture 4.0 initiative, which is showcasing Australia’s competitive advantages in agtech and foodtech to a global audience.

After the conference, TIQ worked with Austrade to bring a group of international investors and importers to Queensland to investigate business opportunities.

The group met with Queensland companies and start-ups, visited facilities in Brisbane and Toowoomba, and spoke to researchers from institutions such as the University of Southern Queensland, Queensland University of Technology and the Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation.

TIQ is now working with its Queensland and international contacts to follow up on potential partnerships discussed during the tour.

EvokeAG was held in Melbourne from 18–19 February, with the investor mission to Queensland held on 22 February.

Supporting Queensland exporters is a key goal of the Queensland Trade and Investment Strategy 2017–2022.