TIQ is governed by a board appointed by the Governor in Council. The board includes two directors-general, drawn from the department responsible for administering the Trade and Investment Queensland Act 2013 and the department responsible for administering the State Development and Public Works Organisation Act 1971.

TIQ Board

The Honourable Steve Bredhauer, Chair

Steve was appointed Chair of the TIQ Board in December 2015. He is also the Deputy Chair of the International Education and Training Advisory Group. Prior to his appointment as Chair, Steve was TIQ’s Special Trade Representative to China, Vietnam and Mongolia from 2008 to 2012, a leader of 15 trade missions and a participant in over 25 missions. From 1989 to 2004, Steve was a member of the Queensland Parliament and served as Minister for Transport and Main Roads from 1998 to 2004. Steve has also run a successful consulting business since 2004.

Professor Ian O’Connor AC, Deputy Chair

Ian has been Vice Chancellor and President of Griffith University since January 2005. He has led major growth of the university’s five campuses during this period. He is a board member of Open Universities Australia, the Foundation for Australia-Japan Studies and the Foundation for Australian Studies in China. He is also a member of the Legacy Advisory Committee for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games and is Chair of the Queensland Art Gallery Board of Trustees.

Dave Stewart

from 12 Dec 2017

Dave Stewart is Director-General of the Department of the Premier and Cabinet and joined the board in December 2018 following the transfer of Ministerial responsibility for TIQ to the Premier and Minister for Trade, Annastacia Palaszczuk. He has held senior executive roles in the Queensland Government, including Deputy Coordinator-General of the Department of Infrastructure and Planning, and Director-General of Queensland Transport and then of the Department of Transport and Main Roads. Prior to joining the Queensland Government, Dave had a distinguished career in local government, and in engineering in Australia and the UK.

Rachel Hunter

from 3 Apr 2018

Rachel Hunter replaced Michael Schaumburg on the TIQ Board following her appointment as Director-General of the Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning in March 2018. Ms Hunter is a former director-general of two Queensland Government departments and also served as Queensland’s Public Service Commissioner from 2000 to 2003. Ms Hunter has chaired the board of Jobs Queensland, providing advice on skills needs and workforce planning. She is currently Deputy Chancellor of Griffith University and has served as the Chair of Children’s Health Queensland.

Josie Angus

Josie owns and manages Angus Pastoral Co., running more than 35,000 head of high-quality beef cattle across more than 161,000 hectares (400,000 acres) in Central and Northern Queensland. Since 1999, the company has marketed its own beef labels: Kimberley Red, Angus Pastoral, Sondella and Boss. Signature Beef has now been incorporated to market the company’s suite of brands to customers in 24 countries.

Kate Hynes

Kate is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland, Federal Court of Australia and High Court of Australia. Kate is currently Head of Legal & Business Affairs at film production company
Hoodlum in Brisbane. She holds a Certificate in Information Privacy Management (International Association of Privacy Professionals), a Bachelor of Laws (QUT), a Graduate Certificate in Legal Practice (QUT) and a Bachelor of Arts (University of Queensland). Kate has worked as a legal adviser in Brisbane, Melbourne, Dubai and Jakarta, and has a particular interest in international law and trade.

Michele Fleming

Michele is Associate Principal, Business Development, at Populous, a global specialist architecture firm. She has 20 years’ experience in strategic government relations in Asia and Australia. She holds a Bachelor of Arts (New Zealand), a Graduate Diploma in Journalism (New Zealand) and a Graduate Diploma in Communications (Distinction) (QUT). Michele is also a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Jim Murphy

10 Feb 2017 to 12 Dec 2017

Jim commenced as Under Treasurer, Queensland Treasury, on 1 June 2015. Formerly a senior executive with the ANZ bank, Jim is a respected government leader. Prior to his role with ANZ, Jim was Deputy Secretary in the Australian Treasury for more than a decade and also held senior executive positions in the Australian Government departments of Treasury, Attorney-General and Finance. His distinguished career also includes a role as an adviser with the International Monetary Fund in Washington DC. For a short period, he worked as Chief of Staff in the Office of the Prime Minister. Jim was awarded the Public Service Medal for strategic economic advice that formed the government’s response to the global financial crisis. Jim left the TIQ Board in December 2017 following the transfer of responsibility for administering the Trade and Investment Queensland Act 2013 to the Department of the Premier and Cabinet.

Michael Schaumberg

18 Dec 2015 to 16 Mar 2018

Michael was Director-General of the Department of State Development from July 2015 to March 2018 and was the department’s representative on the TIQ Board during that time. Michael has held senior executive roles in the Queensland Government and government-owned corporations and is a former Deputy Coordinator-General in the Department of State Development, and Engineering Manager of Ports Corporation Queensland. Michael’s private-sector experience includes roles for engineering consultants, a large construction contractor and an ASX-listed resources infrastructure development company.

Meeting attendance, 2017–18

Board member 15 Aug 2017 21 Nov 2017 20 Feb 2018 27 Apr 2018 12 Jun 2018
Hon. Steve Bredhauer
Prof. Ian O’Connor
Josie Angus Apology
Michele Fleming
Kate Hynes
Jim Murphy1 Apology N/A N/A N/A
Michael Schaumburg2 N/A N/A
Dave Stewart1 N/A N/A Apology
Rachel Hunter2 N/A N/A N/A


  1. As a result of the Ministerial portfolio changes in December 2017, Mr Dave Stewart, Director-General, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, replaced Mr Jim Murphy, Under Treasurer, Queensland Treasury, on the TIQ Board.
  2. In March 2018, the Premier announced the appointment of Ms Rachel Hunter as Director-General, Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning. As a result of this appointment, Ms Hunter replaced Mr Michael Schaumburg on the TIQ Board.