The Hon. Annastacia Palaszczuk MP

The TIQ Board is responsible to:

The Hon. Annastacia Palaszczuk MP

Premier and Minister for Trade



The Hon. Steve Bredhauer

The Hon. Steve Bredhauer – Chair

Steve was appointed Chair of TIQ in December 2015. He is also the Deputy Chair of the International Education and Training Advisory Group.

Steve was TIQ’s Special Trade Representative to China, Vietnam and Mongolia from 2008 to 2012, during which time he led 14 trade missions. In various capacities for the Queensland Government and private sector, Steve has now led or participated in more than 25 trade missions to markets across the globe. From 1989 to 2004, Steve was a member of the Queensland Parliament. He served as Minister for Transport and Main Roads from 1998 to 2004.

Steve has also run a successful consulting business since 2004.



Prof. Ian O’Connor

Professor Emeritus Ian O’Connor AC – Deputy Chair

Ian held the position of Vice Chancellor and President of Griffith University from January 2005 until his retirement at the end of 2018. He led major growth of the university’s five campuses during this period.

Ian was a member of the Legacy Advisory Committee for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games. He is a board member of the Foundation for Australian Studies in China and is Chair of the Queensland Art Gallery Board of Trustees.

In 2017, Ian was awarded the Companion of the Order of Australia for his contributions to the community. In March 2019, he was appointed Chair of the South Bank Corporation.

Rachel Hunter

Rachel Hunter PSM

Rachel is Director-General of the Department of the Premier and Cabinet and joined the board in May 2021.

Rachel is the first female Director-General of the department since its inception in 1859, and is a highly regarded and accomplished director-general and chief executive who has worked across various portfolios. As Queensland’s former Under Treasurer, she was at the helm of Queensland Treasury during the critical period when the government was responding to the global COVID-19 pandemic. In this role, she was instrumental in shaping and delivering the government’s economic response and recovery plans for Queensland.

In addition to her role on the TIQ Board, Rachel is a member of the Building Queensland Board, Cross River Rail Board and the National First Secretaries Group. She also serves as the Deputy Chancellor of Griffith University.

In 2020, Rachel received a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service to the community of Queensland.

Damien Walker

Damien Walker

As Director-General of the Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning, Damien Walker is a key leader of the Queensland Government’s agenda to drive economic growth and create jobs for Queenslanders.

His responsibilities extend to supporting the portfolio work in relation to the Digital Economy.

Damien is a former Director-General of the Department of State Development, Tourism and Innovation and prior to that, the Department of Innovation, Tourism Industry Development and the Commonwealth Games, where he successfully led the Queensland Government’s delivery of the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games and the Department of Tourism, Major Events and Small Business from October 2016.

Damien has the following roles on several key boards:

  • Economic Development Queensland Board – Chair
  • Townsville Industrial Development Board – Chair
  • Trade and Investment Queensland Board – Member
  • Southbank Corporation Board – Member

Before leaving Adelaide to live in Queensland, Damien held senior executive roles in the South Australian Government in infrastructure planning and delivery, investment facilitation, contract management and reform implementation.

Damien holds academic qualifications in public policy and planning, and has broad experience, particularly in the economic development and strategic planning arena.

Damien is a champion for gender equity in the workplace and the prevention of domestic and family violence in all our communities. He is also passionate about delivering initiatives to create opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.

Michele Fleming

Michele Fleming

Michele has been a Board member of TIQ since October 2016.

She is also Associate Principal and Head of Government Relations at Populous, a global specialist architecture firm and the 2019 Australian Exporter of the Year.

Michele has more than 20 years’ experience as a senior Government Relations and Strategic Marketing Executive and Board Member with a strong focus on export strategies and high-level stakeholder engagement with Federal, State and Local Government.

With the increasing importance of Services Industries to the Australian economy and their potential for export growth, Michele has valuable skills in developing and encouraging the export capabilities of Services firms.

Michele has provided executive advice to a number of business and government organisations developing business with Asia, including 9 years on the Queensland Executive of the Australia China Business Council. Michele completed the Federal Government’s Asialink Leaders Program in 2016.

She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Kate Hynes

Kate Hynes

Kate is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland, Federal Court of Australia and High Court of Australia. Kate is currently Head of Legal & Business Affairs at Brisbane film and television production company Hoodlum.

She holds a Certificate in Information Privacy Management (International Association of Privacy Professionals), a Bachelor of Laws (QUT), a Graduate Certificate in Legal Practice (QUT) and a Bachelor of Arts (University of Queensland). Kate has worked as a legal adviser in Brisbane, Melbourne, Dubai and Jakarta, and has a particular interest in international law and trade.

Jim Varghese AM

Jim Varghese AM

Jim is the National Chair of the Australia India Business Council and owner and Chairman of The Leadership Company, which specialises in change and transformation. He is also Executive Director of the Springfield City Group and was its Chief Executive Officer from 2008 to 2012.

Prior to 2008, Jim had a distinguished 30-year career in the public sector, which included roles as the chief executive in leading government agencies in both Victoria and Queensland. He has an outstanding track record as a chief executive running multifaceted businesses, with a proven ability to deliver excellent, innovative results in challenging and changing environments.

In 2001, Jim received the Centenary Medal for services to the public sector. In 2009, he was awarded the Order of Australia for services to the public sector and the community. He joined the board in October 2019.