Queensland Regional Study Clusters

Partnering across our regions

An aligned and collaborative approach to regional engagement will ensure that Queensland offers the most diverse, comprehensive and unique offerings to international students. Key to this is aligning the international education activities of local councils and Regional Study Clusters.

Regional Cluster Groups and Local Councils

Queensland’s Regional Study Clusters

With over a third of Queensland’s international students studying in regions across Queensland, our regions and their strengths and points of difference are a critical component of the state’s offering. Study Queensland is fostering stronger partnerships with regions and working collaboratively to leverage the state’s overall knowledge, skill and resources.

Regional Study Clusters are a network of organisations committed to fostering international student participation and related business activities in a region. There is no ‘one-size-fits-all’ model for regional clusters in Queensland and each region approaches the task with varied resources and scope.

A key feature is the leadership of local government in supporting local cluster initiatives. Queensland’s Regional Study Clusters are an invaluable source of support and information for providers and other industry organisations.

Regional Engagement

Study Queensland has implemented a collaborative planning model that includes state wide coordination and industry wide feedback. Study Queensland works in cooperation with Regional Study Clusters and key regions in developing the Global Partnership Plan. The Study Queensland Positioning Framework will provide new opportunities for regional study clusters and partners to leverage the Study Queensland brand and maximise opportunities to advance international education and training for their local region.

Study Queensland has been working to improve how information is shared and managed across the state. Providers and industry organisations interested in being involved at a local level should contact your local regional study cluster or partner.

Regional Community of Practice

Queensland’s Regional Community of Practice (RCoP) is a forum for discussion, to share best practice and help guide the delivery of the strategy across the state. The RCoP focuses on approaches to address local issues affecting international students and the sector more broadly.

The RCoP is comprised of regional cluster group representatives, local and state governments and other key industry representatives by invitation.

Key contacts

For more information or assistance please contact your local study cluster or local council. You can also learn more about Regional Study Clusters by downloading our factsheet.

Queensland’s Regional Study Clusters and Partners

Regional Study Clusters – Established
Study Cairns Carol Doyle* – info@studycairns.com.au studycairns.com.au
Study Townsville Ian Smythe*  – Ian.Smythe@tafe.qld.edu.au studytownsville.com.au
Study Sunshine Coast Kim Baldwin – Kim.Baldwin@visitsunshinecoast.com studysunshinecoast.com.au
Study Brisbane Rachel Colaso – rcolaso@brisbanemarketing.com.au studybrisbane.com.au
Study Gold Coast Alfred Slogrove – alfred@studygoldcoast.org.au studygoldcoast.org.au
Regional Study Clusters – Emerging
Study Rockhampton Young Beamish – young.beamish@rrc.qld.gov.au advancerockhampton.com.au
Study Toowoomba Shamus Garmany – shamus.garmany@tr.qld.gov.au tr.qld.gov.au
Study Greater Whitsundays Whitsunday: Garry Scanlan – garry@gw3.com.au
Mackay: Teona Cousin – teona.cousin@mackay.qld.gov.au
mackay.qld.gov.au
Regional Partners
Wide Bay–Burnett Bundaberg: Melissa Nunn – m.nunn@cqu.edu.au
Gympie: Lynne Wilbraham – lynne.wilbraham@gympie.qld.gov.au
Fraser Coast: Sandra Holebrook – info@studyfrasercoast.com.au
bundaberg.qld.gov.au
gympie.qld.gov.au
frasercoast.qld.gov.au
Ipswich Tamanna Monem – tamanna.monem@ipswich.qld.gov.au ipswich.qld.gov.au
Redlands Bruce Redpath – bruce.redpath@redland.qld.gov.au redland.qld.gov.au
Moreton Bay Nicky Young – nicky.young@mbrit.com.au choosemoretonbayregion.com.au

*indicates a voluntary position.